Saturday, February 11, 2012

Acoustic Alchemy "American-English" Smooth Jazz Music CD Review

Smooth Jazz super group, and British instrumental ensemble Acoustic Alchemy celebrates over twenty years of smooth jazz perfection with the release of their latest CD entitled American/English. A CD that does not disappoint.

I must admit I wasn't really expecting much from American/English but must admit I was pleasantly surprised.

The CD begins with the smooth and laid back track The Crossing, then becomes more adventurous with the remaining 10 tracks.

The groups soul influences can be heard on track 5, The Detroit Shuffle, but this CD is clearly all about the strings and groove.

It appears with Greg Carmichael and Miles Gilderdale at the helm, like fine wine Acoustic Alchemy continues to improve with age. Producing their trade mark naturally smooth sound throughout the CD these guys are still at the top of their game.

I'm of the opinion that American/English is certainly Acoustic Alchemy's best work in a few years. A totally enjoyable CD and an outstanding release. What I call, must have music. I give it two thumbs up because it's a collection that even the casual smooth jazz fan can appreciate and enjoy the very nice mix of smooth and funky tracks.

The standout tunes and favorites on American/English are The Crossing [track 1], The Detroit Shuffle [track 5], and She Speaks American English [track 7]. My SmoothLee Bonus Pick, and the one that got Sore [ in "Stuck On REpeat"] is track 9, The 14 Carrot Cafe. Very nice!

Release Notes:

Acoustic Alchemy originally released American/English on March 29, 2005 on the Higher Octave record label.

CD track list follows:

1. The Crossing

2. Say Yeah

3. So Kylie

4. Trinity

5. The Detroit Shuffle

6. Cherry Hill

7. She Speaks American English

8. Lilac Lane

9. The 14 Carrot Cafe

10. Get Up (Levantar Y Bailar)

11. The Moon And The Sun

No comments:

Post a Comment